2018 Award Winners

The Louisiana Chapter, American Society of Landscape Architects, recently honored projects and patrons at its 34th annual awards banquet, held earlier this month at Hilltop Arboretum, Baton Rouge. Projects located in Louisiana, Arkansas, Alabama, and South Carolina were recognized in the following categories: the Built Environment; Planning; Special Projects; Natural Resource Conservation; Residential; Research; and Student Work. All projects were completed by Louisiana landscape architects (most of whom are graduates of LSU’s Robert Reich School of Landscape Architecture) or students in LSU’s nationally recognized undergraduate and graduate programs.

“We had an unusually vast array of projects this year,” according to Chapter president Justin Lemoine, ASLA, of Baton Rouge, “and we are proud of the many different ways Louisiana’s landscape architects are making an impact in our region.”

Two Patron of the Profession Awards, in special recognition for commitment and engagement with the profession, were given to:

  • Coquille Parks and Recreation, St. Tammany Parish, for its on-going efforts to improve public parks and recreation in St. Tammany Parish; and
  • Genevieve Munson Trimble, New Orleans, for over 45 years of garden stewardship at Afton Villa, St. Francisville.

The President’s Award of Excellence (Research category) was awarded to Suzanne Turner Associates, Baton Rouge, for its Aiken-Rhett House Cultural Landscape Report, Charleston South Carolina.

Projects receiving awards included the following:

Built Environment, Institutional or Cultural:

Honor Award: Audubon Charter School, New Orleans: Mathes Brierre Architects, New Orleans

Merit Award: New Orleans Botanical Garden Arrival Garden, New Orleans: CARBO Landscape Architecture, Baton Rouge

Planning, Recreation Master Planning:

Honor Award: Longleaf Botanical Garden Master Plan, North Central Alabama: CARBO Landscape Architecture, Baton Rouge

Honor Award: Airbase Park Master Plan, Houma, Louisiana: Joseph Furr Design Studio, Baton Rouge

Merit Award: Tamanend, St Tammany Parish: Reich Associates

Merit Award: Iberville Parks & Recreation Framework Guide, Iberville Parish: Duplantis Design Group, Baton Rouge

Merit Award: Healing Springs Park, Siloam Springs, Arkansas: CARBO Landscape Architecture, Baton Rouge

Merit Award: Lafourche Parish Multi-use Path Master Plan and Feasibility Study, Lafourche Parish, Louisiana: Dupantis Design Group, Alta Planning + Design, Baton Rouge

Special Projects, Communications:

Honor Award: Afton Villa – The Birth and Rebirth of a Nineteenth Century Louisiana Plantation by Genevieve Munson Trimble (LSU Press), Lake Douglas, series editor

Natural Resource Conservation, Sustainable Design:

Merit Award: Coquille 2.0 – A Master Plan updated for Green Infrastructure, St. Tammany Parish: Joseph Furr Design Studio, Baton Rouge


Rene J. L. Fransen - Laborde Residence_Page_08.jpg

Merit Award: Laborde Residence, New Orleans: René J. L Fransen, FASLA, New Orleans

Student Awards:

Honor Award: Family Friendly Community Design, Baton Rouge: Tianyi Zhang; Faculty Advisor: Professor Lake Douglas, FASLA

Merit Award: Atchafalaya Bear Authority, Calumet, Louisiana: Daniel Hernandez, Delaney McGuinness, and Benton Williams; Faculty Advisor: Assistant Professor Forbes Lipschitz

Merit Award: Elmer’s Island Wildlife Refuge, Elmer’s Island, Louisiana: William (Joey) O’Mahoney and Chenfeng (Austin) Lu; Faculty Advisor: Assistant Professor Brendan Harmon